AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

A November 6, 2026, cancer news roundup highlighted cautions about a small breast cancer risk increase associated with certain menopause hormone therapies, a roughly 2% projected Medicare payment cut for oncologists in 2027, and findings that routine breast imaging may not benefit women after double mastectomy for ductal carcinoma in situ. The report summarizes separate developments; it does not provide study details or establish that the same guidance applies to every patient.

A November 6 cancer news roundup highlighted three developments affecting breast cancer decisions and cancer care: a warning about a small increase in breast cancer risk tied to certain menopause hormone therapies, a projected roughly 2% Medicare pay cut for oncologists in 2027, and a report that routine breast imaging may not benefit women after double mastectomy for ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS). The items come from separate reports and do not amount to new, universal medical guidance.

The roundup, published by MedPage Today, cited a New York Times report warning doctors not to overlook a small increase in breast cancer risk associated with certain hormone therapies used to treat menopause symptoms. It did not specify the therapies, the size of the risk, the duration of use, or which patients face the greatest risk. Separately, The Guardian reported that the FDA removed boxed warnings about breast cancer, cardiovascular disease and dementia from the labels of three estrogen patches. The two items concern distinct developments; the available source material does not explain the FDA’s rationale or establish how the label change relates to the risk warning.

The American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) said oncologists treating Medicare patients would face an approximately 2% payment reduction under the 2027 Physician Fee Schedule from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. The roundup did not give the calculation, the policy components behind the figure, or estimates of how practices might respond. ASCO said it was monitoring the potential effect on cancer care delivery.

On imaging, the roundup cited UCLA Health reporting that women treated for DCIS with a double mastectomy may not benefit from routine mammograms or other breast imaging. The summary did not provide the underlying study design, patient numbers, or recommendations for individual follow-up. It should not be read as advice to stop imaging: surveillance decisions depend on a patient’s clinical circumstances and treating team’s guidance.

At a glance
reportWhen: Published November 6, 2026; Medicare pa…
The developmentA MedPage Today cancer news roundup published November 6 covered hormone therapy and breast cancer risk, ASCO’s warning about a projected Medicare oncology payment cut, and a UCLA Health report on imaging after double mastectomy for ductal carcinoma in situ.

Implications for Treatment and Access

These items speak to decisions at different points in cancer care. For people considering menopause treatment, a small risk increase can matter when weighing symptom relief against individual medical history and preferences. The reported removal of boxed warnings from some patch labels adds a separate regulatory development, but the supplied material does not say that all hormone products carry the same risks or that the FDA concluded risk is absent.

A 2% Medicare payment cut, if implemented as described, could affect the finances of oncology practices that treat Medicare beneficiaries. ASCO’s concern is about possible effects on care delivery; the roundup provides no evidence that appointments, staffing or services have already changed. The mammography item likewise underscores that post-treatment follow-up may differ by diagnosis and surgery, rather than supporting one imaging schedule for everyone.

Products Worth Considering

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Three Separate Cancer Care Developments

The source is a brief cancer news roundup, not a single study or policy announcement. It brings together reports from outlets and organizations including The New York Times, The Guardian, ASCO and UCLA Health. Its short summaries identify topics but omit many details needed to assess evidence, policy mechanics or patient-specific recommendations.

The hormone therapy item concerns treatment for menopause symptoms, while the DCIS item concerns follow-up after a particular operation. They are related through breast cancer care but address different questions. The Medicare payment item applies to reimbursement for clinicians treating people with Medicare; it is not described as a change in patient coverage or drug prices. Keeping those distinctions clear prevents the roundup’s three topics from being mistaken for one connected policy or clinical finding.

“Oncologists treating Medicare patients will face a roughly 2% pay cut under the 2027 Physician Fee Schedule.”

— American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), as quoted in the MedPage Today roundup

Evidence and Policy Details Still Missing

The roundup does not provide the underlying research or detailed evidence for the hormone therapy and post-mastectomy imaging reports. It is unclear which hormone formulations, doses, and treatment durations are covered by the risk warning, how large the risk difference is, or what follow-up approach was assessed after double mastectomy. The reported FDA label change is also not accompanied by the agency’s explanation or details about which patches were affected.

For the Medicare issue, the source reports ASCO’s estimate but does not lay out the final payment rules, how the approximate cut was calculated, or whether later policy changes could alter it. No effects on oncology clinic operations are confirmed in the material. The reports should be treated as a roundup of developments, not as a substitute for the underlying studies, official policy documents or clinical advice.

Watch for Guidance and Payment Rules

Readers should look to the underlying reports and official documents for the evidence behind the breast cancer risk and imaging findings, and to FDA communications for the reasoning and scope of the estrogen-patch label changes. People weighing menopause hormone treatment or follow-up after DCIS surgery should discuss their own circumstances with a qualified clinician rather than changing treatment or screening based on a brief summary.

For the payment issue, the next relevant development is the finalized 2027 Physician Fee Schedule and any subsequent changes or responses from CMS and ASCO. ASCO has said it is monitoring possible effects on care delivery; the supplied report gives no timetable for further assessment and no confirmed account of impacts on patients or practices.

Key Questions

Does the report say all menopause hormone therapy raises breast cancer risk?

No. It refers to a small increase associated with certain hormonal therapies and does not identify all products or quantify the risk. Patients should discuss treatment choices with a qualified clinician.

Did the FDA remove boxed warnings from every estrogen product?

The roundup says The Guardian reported removal of warnings from the labels of three estrogen patches. It does not say that warnings were removed from every estrogen product or provide the FDA’s explanation.

Does the imaging report mean mammograms are never needed after double mastectomy?

No. The report says routine mammograms or other imaging may not benefit some women treated for DCIS with double mastectomy. It does not establish a rule for every patient or replace individualized follow-up advice.

Is the roughly 2% Medicare oncology payment cut already in effect?

The roundup describes an approximately 2% reduction under the 2027 Physician Fee Schedule. It does not state that the change is already in effect or provide the final policy details.

Source: medpagetoday.com

This article is for informational purposes only and is not medical advice. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional about your specific situation.
You May Also Like

A Simple Liquid Can Stop Cavities Without Drilling, Major Study Confirms

A Phase III trial of 830 children found that 38% silver diamine fluoride stopped decay in more than half of treated baby teeth with six-month applications.

Risk Of AMD Progression After Cataract Surgery

Search and coverage interest is spiking in whether cataract surgery accelerates age-related macular degeneration. What is known, and what remains unconfirmed.

Cannabis Doesn’t Make You Violent – Despite What Recent Reports Have Claimed

A review found an association between cannabis use and violence, but study limitations mean it does not establish that cannabis causes violence.

Genflow Biosciences Surges In Global Coverage

Genflow Biosciences experiences a significant surge in international media coverage, with 24 mentions in recent reporting, marking increased public and industry interest.